Loading.
Please wait.

menu

Language

The Agency’s Main Activities

Capacity Building

The Agency attaches great importance to building the capacity of cadres from African and Islamic countries to help them achieve their potential. The Agency organizes in this regard training courses in many areas such as: diplomacy, law, agriculture, health, education, communication and information technology, as well as security. The Agency also cooperates with a number of Egyptian centers of excellence in these areas to organize training courses, including the Institute of Diplomatic Studies, the National Center for Judicial Studies, the Egyptian Military Academy, the Police Research Centre, and the Water Research Institute. Since its inception, the Agency has organized 70 training courses attended by more than 1500 trainees from African countries, and more than 260 trainees from Commonwealth countries.

Dispatching Experts

The EAPD has reformed the process of dispatching experts. It has reviewed the needs of the African and Islamic countries to meet some of them. There are currently 61 experts in 21 countries, and the Agency plans to dispatch 8 experts to the Commonwealth countries, and 14 experts to African countries.

The Agency has also reviewed and modified the nomination and selection procedures of experts, to be more transparent; it has also reviewed the structure of their salaries, and adjusted them to match the countries’ standards of living, and to be consistent with the financial structure of the Egyptian Foreign Ministry.

Providing Aid and Assistance:

The Assistance provided during the current fiscal year included the provision of medical aid and equipment to a number of African countries, as well as aid provided to the African countries which suffered from the Ebola outbreak.

The agency developed and equipped a number of African hospitals and Egyptian medical centers in a number of African countries. It also provided medical equipment to the Magdi Yacoub Heart Foundation to equip the specialized medical units in a number of Africa’s hospitals (such as Uganda, Ethiopia, and Burundi), under the memorandum of understanding signed between the Agency and the Foundation.

Promoting Triangular Cooperation

The Agency's promotes triangular cooperation through 2 axes: 

1. Seeking to update and maximize the benefit from existing agreements (previously concluded between the Egyptian Fund for Technical Cooperation with Africa and donor countries and institutions). 

2. Exploring cooperation with new development partners. As such, the Agency has sought to maximize triangular cooperation with a number of donor countries and institutions, mainly:

The Islamic Development Bank: the Agency has paid special attention to the Bank, being one of the most flexible financial institutions in promoting development in Africa, and one of the oldest partners of the Egyptian Fund for Technical Cooperation with Africa. The Agency has begun to cooperate with the Bank to establish a permanent Egyptian presence in the health sector in some African countries members of the Bank that are of strategic importance to Egypt. The Agency has also sought to take advantage of the Islamic Corporation for the Insurance of Investment and Export Credit (affiliated to the IDB) to cover the risks of exporting Egyptian products to Africa.

The Arab Fund for Technical Assistance to African Countries: The Agency reached an agreement with the Fund on the expansion of  cooperation activities in the coming period. The Fund has agreed in principle to participate in the organization of training courses during 2015 and 2016.

Japan: Egypt has signed a framework agreement for triangular cooperation in Africa with Japan in 1998. Activities of cooperation have throughout the past years been implemented by the Egyptian Fund for Technical Cooperation with Africa, and now by the EAPD, in cooperation with the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), especially in the field of organizing training courses for Africans (JICA and EAPD have organized 11 training sessions in the fields of agriculture, electricity, trade, and health). Moreover, new prospects of cooperation proposed by the Agency to JICA are being explored.

The Agency is engaged in various contacts to explore the prospects of triangular cooperation with many countries of the world with a keen interest in Africa, such as a number of Gulf Arab states, China, India, South Korea, Mexico, and Argentina.

A Special Focus on Health, Education, and Women's Empowerment

The scope of the Agency's work includes many sectors and issues; yet, it pays special attention to health, education and women issues given their crucial role in achieving and sustaining development efforts in Africa. The Agency’s initiatives in these areas included the following:

 

Health:

Improving the system of dispatching medical convoys to the countries of the continent, by diversifying their medical activities to include awareness raising, training, capacity building, and the establishment of partnerships to increase the number of convoys and their influence in important African events. In this context, a convoy was dispatched to help Equatorial Guinea to set up a quarantine system during the Africa Cup of Nations 2015.

Four medical convoys were dispatched over the last year. The Agency seeks during the coming period to dispatch convoys to help the displaced and refugees in African countries of priority to Egypt; as well as mobilize additional resources from national partners to fund convoys without creating additional burdens on the EAPD's budget.

Education:

The Agency has succeeded in obtaining the approval of the Ministry of Higher Education to allow private and non-governmental universities to accept African students in medical and engineering faculties with grades of only 65% and in theoretical faculties with grades of only 55%. This would enable African students to take advantage of scholarship opportunities in Egypt without the previous requirements of obtaining very high grades comparable to their Egyptian peers.

Women’s Empowerment:

The Agency attaches special importance to women’s empowerment in Africa as it believes in the crucial role of women in developing African societies. The Agency organized in this context training courses for women, in collaboration with various distinguished centers and institutes. Women’s participation in the Agency's programs during 2014-2015 represented about (20%); and the Agency is seeking to increase this percentage during the current fiscal year.

The Agency organized, in cooperation with the Police Research Center, a training course in the field of human rights for female police cadres of African countries in December 2014. It also organized training programs for African women in the areas of health and agriculture, in cooperation with the Faculty of Nursing at Cairo University, the Egyptian International Center for Agriculture, and the Alexandria Regional Centre for Women’s Health and Development.

جارى التحميل
برجاء الانتظار

menu

اللغة

الأنشطة الرئيسية للوكالة

بناء القدرات

تولي الوكالة أهمية خاصة لبناء قدرات الكوادر من إفريقيا والدول الإسلامية للمساهمة في النهوض بإمكانيات الأشقاء في تلك الدول. وتقوم الوكالة في هذا الصدد بتنظيم دورات تدريبية في مجالات عديدة كالدبلوماسية، والقضاء، والزراعة، والصحة، والتعليم، والاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات، والأمن. وتتعاون مع عدد من أهم المراكز المصرية المتميزة في تلك المجالات لاستضافة الدورات التدريبية، ومنها معهد الدراسات الدبلوماسية، والمركز القومي للدراسات القضائية، وهيئة تدريب القوات المسلحة، ومركز بحوث الشرطة، ومعهد بحوث المياه. وقد نظمت الوكالة منذ نشأتها 70 دورة تدريبية، تخرج منها أكثر من 1500 متدرب من الدول الإفريقية، وأكثر من 260 متدرب من دول الكومنولث.

إيفاد الخبراء

راجعت الوكالة احتياجات الدول الإفريقية والإسلامية لتلبية بعض منها، ويوجد حالياً 61 خبيراً في 21 دولة، ومن المقرر إيفاد 8 خبراء مُرشحاً لدول الكومنولث، و14 خبيراً مُرشحا لدول إفريقيا.  

كما قامت الوكالة بمراجعة وتعديل إجراءات ترشيح واختيار الخبراء، لتتسم بشفافية أكبر؛ كما راجعت هيكل مرتباتهم، وتعديله، ليتمشي مع مستويات المعيشة بالدول، ويتواكب مع التقسيم المالي بالوزارة.

تقديم المعونات والمساعدات

تضمنت المساعدات خلال السنة المالية الحالية شراء وتقديم أجهزة ومعونات طبية لعدد من دول إفريقيا، فضلاً عن المساعدات المُقدمة لدول القارة التي عانت من وباء الإيبولا. 

عملت الوكالة علي التواجد بشكل ثابت في عدد من دول إفريقيا، خاصةً دول حوض النيل، وقامت بتطوير وتجهيز عدد من المستشفيات الإفريقية والمراكز الطبية المصرية في عدد من دول القارة. وقدمت أجهزة طبية لمؤسسة مجدي يعقوب لأمراض القلب لتجهيز الوحدات الطبية المتخصصة في عدد من مستشفيات إفريقيا (كأوغندا، وإثيوبيا، وبوروندي)، وفقاً لمذكرة التفاهم الموقعة بين الوكالة والمؤسسة. 

تعزيز التعاون الثلاثي

تقوم سـياسة الوكالة في هذا الإطار على محوريّن أساسييّن، وهما العمل علي التحديث والاستفادة القصوى من الاتفاقيات القائمة بالفعل (التي سبق للصندوق المصري للتعاون الفني مع أفريقيا إبـــرامها مع الدول والمؤسسات المانحة)؛ والبحـث عن شركاء تنمويين جدد. وسعت الوكالة لتعظيم التعاون الثلاثي مع عدد من المؤسسات والدول المانحة، وعلي رأسها: 

 

 المؤسسات الرئيسية: 

البنك الأفريقي للتنمية: يٌعَد من أقدم المؤسسات الأفريقية التي ساندت أنشطة الصندوق الأفريقي للتعاون الفنــــي مـع أفـريقيا؛ وعملت الوكالة علي إيجاد فرص تعاون جديدة معه في مجالي دعم أنشطة القطاع الخاص المصري في أفريقيا، والصحة.

البنك الإسلامي للتنمية: أَولت الوكالة اهتماما خاصاً بالبنك لكونه أحد أكثر المؤسسات المالية مرونة في دعم التنمية في إفريقيا، ومن أقدم شركاء الصندوق المصري للتعاون الفني مع أفريقيا. وبدأت الوكالة في التعاون معه لإقامة تواجد مصري صحي ثابت في بعض الدول الأفريقية الأعضاء في البنك ذات الأهمية الإستراتيجية لمصر. وسعت الوكالة أيضًا للاستفادة من نشاط المؤسسة الإسلامية لتأمين الاستثمار وائتمان الصادرات (التابعة لمجموعة البنك) لتغطية مخاطر الصادرات المصرية في أفريقيا. 

الصندوق العربي للمعونة الفنية للدول الأفريقية: تم الاتفاق معه على التوسع في أنشطة التعاون خلال الفترة المقبلة، ومن حيث المبدأ على المشاركة في تنظيم دورات تدريبية خلال 2015-2016. 

 

 الدول الرئيسية: 

اليابان: وقعت مصر اتفاقاً إطارياً للتعاون الثلاثي في إفريقيا مع اليابان في 1998، واستمر تنفيذ أنشطة التعاون المشتركة طوال السنوات الماضية من جانب الصندوق المصري للتعاون الفني مع إفريقيا، ثم الوكالة حالياً، مع وكالة التعاون الدولي اليابانية (جايكا)، خاصةً في مجال تنظيم الدورات التدريبية للأفارقة (نظمت الوكالة مع الجايكا 11 دورة في مجالات الزراعة، والكهرباء، والتجارة، والصحة). وطرحت الوكالة آفاق تعاون جديدة على الجايكا جاري التباحث بشأنها.

بدأت الوكالة اتصالات متنوعة لاستكشاف آفاق للتعاون الثلاثي مع العديد من دول العالم المهتمة بالعمل في إفريقيا، كبعض الدول العربية الخليجية والصين، والهند، وكوريا الجنوبية، والمكسيك، والأرجنتين.

التركيز علي قضايا الصحة، والتعليم، وتمكين المرأة

 يشمل نطاق عمل الوكالة قطاعات وقضايا عديدة، إلا أنها تولي أولوية خاصة لقضايا الصحة والتعليم والمرأة لدورها الأساسي في تحقيق واستدامة جهود التنمية في إفريقيا. وتضمنت المبادرات في تلك المجالات الآتي:

 

الصحة:

 تطوير نظام إيفاد القوافل الطبية لدول القارة؛ وتنويع أنشطتها الطبية لتشمل التوعية والتدريب وبناء القدرات؛ وإقامة شراكات لزيادة عدد القوافل؛ وإسهام القوافل في أحداث إفريقية هامة؛ وتم في هذا الإطار إيفاد قافلة لتساعد غينيا الاستوائية علي إقامة نظام حجر صحي خلال بطولة كأس الأمم الإفريقية في يناير 2015. 

 تم إرسال 4 قوافل طبية خلال العام الماضي، وتسعي الوكالة خلال الفترة القادمة لتوجيه القوافل لمساعدة النازحين واللاجئين في دول القارة؛ فضلاً عن حشد موارد إضافية من الشركاء الوطنيين لتمويل القوافل دون تحميل ميزانية الوكالة بأعباء إضافية. 

 

التعليم:  

 نجحت الوكالة في الحصول على موافقة وزارة التعليم العالي بأن يقبل مكتب قبول الجامعات الخاصة والأهلية الطلاب الأفارقة بكليات القطاع الطبي والهندسي بمجموع 65% وبالكليات النظرية بمجموع 55%؛ وهو الأمر الذي كان يعرقل الاستفادة القصوى من المنح الدراسية، في ضوء ضرورة حصول الطلاب الأفارقة على مجاميع مرتفعة للغاية مناظرة لقرنائهم المصريين.

تمكين المرأة: 

 تولي الوكالة أهمية خاصة للمساهمة في تمكين المرأة في إفريقيا إيماناً بدور المرأة الفعال في تنمية المجتمعات الأفريقية. ونظمت الوكالة في هذا الإطار دورات تدريبية خاصة بالمرأة، بالتعاون مع المراكز والمعاهد المتميزة المختلفة. ومثلت نسبة مشاركة المرأة في برامج الوكالة خلال 2014-2015 حوالي (20%)، وتسعى الوكالة إلي زيادة هذه النسبة خلال العام المالي الجاري.

 نظمت الوكالة بالتعاون مع مركز بحوث الشرطة دورة تدريبية في مجال حقوق الإنسان لكوادر الشرطة النسائية من الدول الإفريقية في ديسمبر2014. كما نظمت الوكالة برامج تدريبية للمرأة الأفريقية في مجالي الصحة والزراعة, بالتعاون مع كلية التمريض بجامعة القاهرة, والمركز المصري الدولي للزراعة، ومركز الإسكندرية الإقليمي لصحة وتنمية المرأة.